The Walks of Kulot


I WOK’d (actually ATE) in BACOLOD.

* I WOK’d ATE in Bacolod is part of the author’s 3-day travel journal from his first mini solo backpacking trip in Negros Occidental.

To cap off my first-ever solo backpacking trip in Negros Occidental, I made a quick stop in Bacolod City – a town famous for its annual Masskara festival where dancers wearing colorful smiling masks parade the streets of Bacolod in a festive mood. But I was a few weeks late for the festival, so I just decided to go on a food trip. Afterall, Bacolod City is also known as a gourmet’s paradise because of the wide variety of food choices one can try when you’re in the city – from the original Bacolod Chicken Inasal to sweet and delectable desserts in Calea. So let me take you on a Bacolod food trip, as I revisit some of the restaurants I tried out during my visit in Bacolod. I am getting hungry writing this.

Chicken Inasal at Manokan Country ready to be cooked.

(L) Chicken Inasal and rice with chicken oil (R) Tinae or Isaw (chicken intestines)

Aida's Manukan chicken mascot

1. Manokan Country is a stretch of carinderia-type restaurants in front of SM Bacolod that mainly serves chicken inasal. But aside from chicken inasal, most restaurants also serve grilled foods like barbecue, isaw, betamax and seafood like talaba (oyster). At Manokan Country there’s no need for utensils, because chicken inasal is best eaten using your bare hands! You’ll surely ask for another round of rice.

Which restaurant to try? Check-out Aida’s Manukan, according to my friend Zyla (who is from Bacolod) they serve the best chicken inasal in Manokan Country. Don’t forget to try tinae, sounds unappetizing but if you’re a fan of isaw then you’ll surely love these chicken intestines in skewers.

* An order of chicken inasal (paa) with rice would cost around P80.00. Tinae is around P20-30 per stick. Manokan Country is easy to find because it’s just across SM Bacolod.

Chicken Inasal @ Chicken Deli

2. Chicken Deli is a restaurant in Bacolod also famous for its chicken inasal and most orders come with unlimited rice. An order of chicken inasal (paa) with unlimited rice costs P79.00.

* Chicken Deli is beside the Negros Showroom along Lacson Street.

Muffins at Bob's Pastry Shop

French Apple Pie with vanilla ice cream

3.  Bob’s Pastry Shop and Restaurant. If Manila has Aristocrat, then Bacolod has Bob’s. Bob’s was started by Dr. Homero Sicangco in the year 1965. The restaurant offers American dishes like baby back ribs, triple-decker burger, and barbeque. But today their menu also includes Filipino and Negrense dishes. Their Batchoy is the best in Bacolod. But if you’re in for some dessert, check out their pastry shop which offers cakes, brownies, muffins, silvanas and pies at an affordable price.

Dessert I tried at Bob’s Pastry Shop: French Apple Pie with Vanilla Ice Cream (P70.00)

* Bob’s Pastry Shop and Restaurant is in front of Dr. Pablo O. Torre Memorial Hospital in Bacolod City. To know more about Bob’s Restaurant, please click on this link.

Calea's mouth-watering ice cream cakes

Choco chip ice cream cake - chocolate and coffee ice cream sandwiched between two moist chocolate chip cookies topped with caramel sauce

4.  Calea. They say you haven’t been to Bacolod if you haven’t tried any dessert at Calea. So during my visit in Bacolod, I really made it a point to visit this dessert haven. Their mouth-watering list of desserts includes pies, ice cream cakes, imported chocolate cakes, mousse and cheesecakes. Honestly, I really had a hard time choosing which dessert to order. Good thing, my friend Zyla suggested that I try their Choco Chip Ice Cream cake with caramel sauce. It was the best dessert I tasted ever! For sure I will visit Calea again when I get back to Bacolod.

Dessert I tried at Calea: Choco Chip Ice cream cake with caramel sauce (P90.00)

* Calea is beside L’Fisher Hotel along Lacson Street in Bacolod City. They also have a branch in SM Bacolod.

Namit Gid! ‘Till our next food trip!

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Good one Marts! I hope you’re not wondering anymore why I’m having a hard time losing weight. What can i say, I’m born to appreciate food! Hahaha! Hope we can go to Bacolod together soon! 😀

Comment by Zyla

Zy, thanks for the list of restaurants and foods to try 🙂 If I had more time I would have visited all of them.

Comment by walksofkulot

Next time try Kansi. And you missed out Chicken House!

Comment by Aia

Hi Aia,

Dapat susubukan ko yung chicken house kaya lang medyo malabo yung store hours nila kasi, sarado sila sa hapon…haha..parang open lang ata sila from 5pm ata hanggang madaling araw. Sayang! di bale next time.

Comment by walksofkulot




Leave a Reply

